Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator John L. Scott, Jr. Senator Daniel B. "Danny" Verdin, III Senator Richard A. "Dick" Harpootlian

> Staff: Macey Webb

College and University Trustee Screening Commission



429 Blatt Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 734-3054 Email: maceywebb@schouse.gov Representative William R. Whitmire Chairman Representative John King Representative Seth Rose Representative Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis

College and University Trustee Screening Commission Report to the General Assembly January 17, 2023

The College and University Trustee Screening Commission found the following individuals qualified and nominated for the Trustee seats to which they applied. These individuals will be released to receive commitments on Wednesday, January 18, 2023 at 12:00 p.m. noon. The Joint Assembly to elect the trustees is currently set for Wednesday, February 1, 2023 at 12:00 p.m. (noon). A complete transcript of the hearings for these candidates will be printed in today's Senate and House Journals.

The Citadel

CANDIDATES FOUND QUALIFIED AND NOMINATED

One (1) at-large seat - terms expires June 30, 2028

Benjamin D. Dixon - Wadmalaw Island

-Withdrew 4/19/22

- Dylan W. Goff Columbia
- Kara Irvin North Charleston

Clemson University

CANDIDATES FOUND QUALIFIED AND NOMINATED

Three (3) at-large seats

- terms expire June 30, 2026

- Patricia H. McAbee Greenville
- John N. McCarter N. Myrtle Beach
- Sharka Marie Prokes Inman
- Joseph D. Swann Greenville

Lander University

CANDIDATES FOUND QUALIFIED AND NOMINATED

At-Large - Seat 8

Robert A. Barber, Jr. - Charleston

- term expires June 30, 2026

At-Large - Seat 9 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	James C. Shubert - Simpsonville
At-Large - Seat 10 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Peggy Makins - Lexington
At-Large - Seat 11 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Donald H. Scott - Waterloo
At-Large - Seat 12 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	DeWitt B. Stone, Jr Clemson
At-Large - Seat 13 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Raymond D. Hunt, Sr Chapin
At-Large - Seat 14 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Marcia T. Hydrick - Seneca
At-Large - Seat 15 - term expires June 30, 2026	-	John E. Craig, Jr Lancaster

Wil Lou Gray Opportunity School

CANDIDATES FOUND QUALIFIED AND NOMINATED Two (2) At-Large seats

Two (2) At-Large seats		
- terms expire June 30, 2026	-	J. Blake Lindsey - West Columbia
	-	Marilyn E. Taylor - Columbia

University of South Carolina

CANDIDATES FOUND QUALIFIED AND NOMINATED

CANDIDATES FOUND QUALIFIED AND NOMINATED				
1 st Judicial Circuit	-	Charles H. Williams - Orangeburg		
- term expires June 30, 2026				
3 rd Judicial Circuit	-	C. Dorn Smith III - Lake City		
- term expires June 30, 2026				
5 th Judicial Circuit	_	Alexander English - Blythewood		
- term expires June 30, 2026				
7 th Judicial Circuit	-	D. Benjamin Graves Spartanburg		
- term expires June 30, 2026		-Withdrew 4/25/22		
	-	Henry L. Jolly, Jr Gaffney		
	-	J. Patrick Anderson Spartanburg		
		-Withdrew 5/2/22		

9 th Judicial Circuit - term expires June 30, 2026	-	John C. von Lehe - Mount Pleasant
11 th Judicial Circuit - term expires June 30, 2026	-	Thad H. Westbrook - Lexington
12 th Judicial Circuit	-	C. Edward Floyd - Florence
13 th Judicial Circuit - term expires June 30, 2026	- - -	D. Hollis Felkel II Simpsonville -Withdrew 4/25/22 C. Brody Glenn Greenville -Withdrew 4/28/22 Reid T. Sherard - Greenville